UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 48, NO. 1 AUGUST 16, 2016

KENNETH P. DIETRICH SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

FALL FULL FACULTY MEETING September 20, 2016

2—5 p.m. University Club, Ballroom B

Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Update on Dietrich School Dean Search (Executive Vice Provost David DeJong)
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 5. Update on Undergraduate General Education Requirements (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 6. Election of Dietrich School Nominating Committee (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 7. Other Business

New Faculty Reception 3 p.m.

SLATE OF CANDIDATES FOR

DIETRICH SCHOOL NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The following slate of candidates for the 2016-17 Dietrich School Nominating Committee was prepared by the Dietrich School Council at its April 22, 2016 meeting. The faculty members listed have indicated their willingness to serve on the Nominating Committee for a term of one year if elected. This slate will be presented to the voting faculty for a vote at the September 20, 2016 meeting of the Dietrich School Faculty. Additional candidates, who have indicated their willingness to serve either by statement at the meeting or by prior consent in writing, may be nominated from the floor at the faculty meeting. In the absence of a quorum, the slate will be sent to the faculty by electronic ballot.

Faculty elected to the Nominating Committee typically meet with Dean N. John Cooper and then by themselves to select Dietrich School faculty nominees whose names will be placed on the spring ballot for members of the various councils and committees whose terms begin with academic year 2017-18. The faculty member with the most votes from each Division also serves as a Dietrich School representative on the Senate Committee for Elections for a twoyear term.

FACULTY WILL VOTE FOR CANDIDATES IN THEIR DIVISION ONLY

<u>Humanities</u>	Natural Sciences	Social Sciences
Select 2 T/TS faculty members	Select 2 T/TS faculty members	Select 2 T/TS faculty members
Annemarie Duggan (Theatre Arts)	Paul Floreancig (Chemistry)	Jonathan Woon (Political Science)
Gordon Mitchell (Communication)	James Mueller (Physics & Astronomy)	Burcu Savun (Political Science)
Todd Reeser (French & Italian/GSWS)	Natasha Tokowicz (Psychology)	Randall Walsh (Economics)
Select 1 NTS faculty member	Select 1 NTS faculty member	Select 1 NTS faculty member
Brett Wells (French)	Erica McGreevy (Biology)	Svitlana Maksymenko (Economics)
Beth Newborg (English)	David Nero (Physics)	John Stoner (History)