UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 46, NO. 5 FEBRUARY 13, 2015

KENNETH P. DIETRICH SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

SPRING FULL FACULTY MEETING February 23, 2015 3 p.m.

> University Club Gold Room

Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Election of AY2016 Dietrich School Governance Committee Members
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 5. Proposed Amendment to Dietrich School Governance Documents to Expand Tenure Council (Senior Associate Dean James Knapp)
- 6. Child Abuse Clearances (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 7. Year of the Humanities (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 8. Other Business

NOMINATIONS

The Nominating Committee, which was elected by ballot of Dietrich School voting members on December 5, 2014, has submitted the following slate of candidates for election by the voting members of the School to membership on the various Dietrich School councils and boards. Names may be added to this list by written petition of at least twenty Dietrich School faculty members, provided the petition is in the hands of the Dietrich School Dean, 917 Cathedral of Learning, not later than February 27, 2015. After that date a ballot for election to the councils and boards will be distributed to the Dietrich School voting membership.

(H = Humanities; N = Natural Sciences; S = Social Sciences)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Council**

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Adriana Helbig (Music) H: David Brumble (English)

N: Jeff Hildebrand (Biological Sciences) N: Bruce Childers (Computer Science)

S: Christel Temple (Africana Studies) S: Daniel Berkowitz (Economics)

(1 NTS member to be elected from Humanities for a 3-year term.)

H: Milica Hayden (Religious Studies)H: Paul Johnson (Communication)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Undergraduate**

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Dawn Lundy Martin (English)H: Drew Armstrong (History of Art & Architecture)

N: Joseph Grabowski (Chemistry) N: Walter Carson (Biological Sciences)

S: Randall Walsh (Economics)

S: Reid Andrews (History)

(1 NTS member to be elected from Humanities for a 3-year term.)

H: Brenda Whitney (English) H: Elizabeth Wylie-Ernst (German)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Graduate** Council

(3 graduate faculty members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

H: Gayle Rogers (English)

H: Karl Schafer (Philosophy)

N: Kathryn Roecklein (Psychology)

- N: Bita Moghaddam (Neuroscience)
- S: Elizabeth Arkush (Anthropology)
- S: Gregor Thum (History)

Nominees for the **College of General Studies** Council

(1 T/TS or NTS members to be elected, one from the Humanities division):

H: Mark Best (English)H: Rebecca Denova (Religious Studies)

Nominees for the University Council on Graduate Study

(1 graduate faculty member to be elected, one from the Humanities division):

H: Elizabeth Monasterios (Hispanic) H: Jonathan Arac (English)

Nominees for the Honors College Advisory Board

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

H: David Birnbaum (Slavic) H: Michael West (English)

N: Adam Lee (Computer Science) N: Tessa Warren (Psychology)

S: Werner Troesken (Economics) S: Irina Livezeanu (History)

Nominees for the Academic Integrity Review Board

(2 T/TS or NTS members and two alternates to be elected (non-division specific) for 2-year terms):

H: Lori Campbell-Tanner (English) H: Chloe Hogg (French & Italian) H: Tom McWhorter (English)

N: Sharon Nelson-LeGall (Psychology) N: Lesley Ashmore (Biological Sciences) N: Tony Bledsoe (Biological Sciences)

- S: Arie Beresteanu (Economics)
- S: Jonathan Woon (Political Science)
- S: Mohammed Bamyeh (Sociology)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Planning &** Budgeting Committee *

(1T/TS member to be elected in the Humanities division for a 3-year term): **Elected faculty members of the Dietrich School PBC may be asked to serve as the elected Dietrich School faculty representatives on the Provost's Area Planning and Budgeting Committee**:

H: Scott Kiesling (Linguistics) H: Deane Root (Music)

(1 NTS member to be elected from Humanities for a 3-year term.)

H: Jeff Aziz (English)H: Gretchen Bender (History of Art & Architecture)

*directly elected faculty only—Dietrich School Council also elects three T/TS faculty members

AGENDA ITEM 5

PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO DIETRICH SCHOOL GOVERNANCE DOCUMENTS TO EXPAND TENURE COUNCIL

Whereas, Tenure Council members from the Natural Sciences are more often asked to serve on multiple tenure and promotion committees than members from the other two divisions:

Resolved, That the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Statement on *Criteria and Procedures for Appointment, Reappointment, Promotion, and Conferral of Tenure* be amended as follows (additions are underlined):

The tenure-stream faculty of each department with fewer than 20 faculty members in the tenure stream shall elect a tenured member <u>and one alternate</u> to serve as representatives to the Arts and Sciences Tenure Council. The tenure-stream faculty of each department with 20 or more faculty members in the tenure stream shall elect two tenured members <u>and</u><u>one alternate</u> to the Arts and Sciences Tenure Council. <u>Each department in the Natural Sciences</u> will elect one additional member to Tenure Council, to meet the demand for technical and quantitative expertise on tenure and promotion committees.