UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 47, NO. 7 FEBRUARY 15, 2016

KENNETH P. DIETRICH SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

SPRING FULL FACULTY MEETING

March 1, 2016

2 p.m.

University Club, Ballroom B

Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Election of AY2016 Dietrich School Governance Committee Members
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 5. Undergraduate General Education Requirements (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 6. Other Business

NOMINATIONS

The Nominating Committee, which was elected by ballot of Dietrich School voting members on November 13, 2015, has submitted the following slate of candidates for election by the voting members of the School to membership on the various Dietrich School councils and boards. Names may be added to this list by written petition of at least 20 Dietrich School faculty members, provided the petition is in the hands of the Dietrich School Dean, 917 Cathedral of Learning, not later than February 29, 2016. After that date a ballot for election to the councils and boards will be distributed to the Dietrich School voting membership.

(H = Humanities; N = Natural Sciences; S = Social Sciences)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Council**

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: James Shaw (Philosophy)

H: Sabine von Dirke (German)

N: SungKyu Jung (Statistics)

N: Michael Sayette (Psychology)

S: Reid Andrews (History)

S: Bryan Hanks (Anthropology)

(1 NTS member to be elected from Natural Sciences for a 3-year term.)

N: George Bandik (Chemistry)

N: Sam Donovan (Biological Sciences)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Undergraduate Council**

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Adriana Helbig (Music)

H: Scott Kiesling (Linguistics)

N: last-minute withdrawal

N: Brian Stewart (Geology & Environmental Science)

S: Olivier de Montmollin (Anthropology)

S: Christel Temple (Africana Studies)

(1 NTS member to be elected from Natural Sciences for a 3-year term.)

N: David Nero (Physics & Astronomy)

N: Inna Sysoeva (Mathematics)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Graduate Council**

(3 graduate faculty members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

H: Elizabeth Monasterios (Hispanic)

H: Francesca Savoia (French & Italian)

N: German Barrionuevo (Neuroscience)

N: Jon Boyle (Biological Sciences)

S: David Huffman (Economics)

S: George Krauss (Political Science)

Nominees for the College of General Studies Council

(2 T/TS or NTS members to be elected, one each in the Natural Sciences and Social Sciences divisions for a 1-year term):

N: Adam Lee (Computer Science)

N: Mark Strauss (Psychology)

S: Michael Glass (Urban Studies)

S: Oronde Sharif (Africana Studies)

Nominees for the **University Council on Graduate Study**

(2 graduate faculty member to be elected, one each in the Natural Sciences and Social Sciences divisions for a 1-year term):

N: Paul Floreancig (Chemistry)

N: Ayres Mario Freitas (Physics & Astronomy)

S: Chris Bonneau (Political Science)

S: Marla Ripoll (Economics)

Nominees for the Honors College Advisory Board

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

H: John Lyne (Communication)

H: Mark Anderson (Film Studies)

N: Nadine McQuarrie (Geology & Environmental Science)

N: Andrew Van Demark (Biological Sciences)

S: Waverly Duck (Social Sciences)

S: Jeffrey Schwartz (Anthropology)

Nominees for the **Academic Integrity Review Board**

(2 T/TS or NTS members and 2 T/TS or NTS alternates to be elected, non-division specific, for 2-year terms):

H: Frayda Cohen (Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies)

H: Matthew Lavin (English)

H: David Marshall (Communication)

N: Jon Johnson (Neuroscience)

N: Marta Lewicka (Mathematics)

N: Nancy Pfenning (Statistics)

S: Gabi Lukacs (Anthropology)

S: Liann Tsoukas (History)

S: Katherine Wolfe (Economics)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Planning & Budgeting Committee ***

(1 T/TS member to be elected in the Natural Sciences division for a 2-year term, 1 T/TS member in the Social Sciences division for a 3-year term):

Elected faculty members of the Dietrich School PBC may be asked to serve as the elected Dietrich School faculty representatives on the Provost's Area Planning and Budgeting Committee:

N: Michael Hatridge (Physics & Astronomy)

N: Sunil Saxena (Chemistry)

S: Margaret Judd (Anthropology) S: Kristin Kanthak (Political Science)

(1 NTS member to be elected: one from Natural Sciences for a 3-year term.)

N: Barbara Kucinski (Psychology) N: Linhong Wang (Mathematics)

*directly elected faculty only—Dietrich School Council also elects three T/TS faculty members