UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 43, NO. 8 February 17, 2012

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Spring Full Faculty Meeting

Wednesday, February 29, 2012 1-3 p.m.

Martin Colloquium Room 4th Floor Sennott Square

Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Election of Dietrich School Committee members
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Acting Associate Dean Steve Carr)
- 5. Report on Budget (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 6. Gift and Renaming of Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences
- 7. Other Business

NOMINATIONS

The Nominating Committee, which was elected by ballot of Dietrich School voting members on November 11, 2011, has submitted the following slate of candidates for election by the voting members of the Dietrich School to membership on the various Dietrich School councils and boards. Names may be added to this list by written petition of at least 20 Dietrich School faculty members, provided the petition is in the hands of the Dietrich School Dean, 917 Cathedral of Learning, not later than February 29, 2012. After that date a ballot for election to the councils and boards will be distributed to the Dietrich School's voting membership.

(H = Humanities; N = Natural Sciences; S = Social Sciences)

Nominees for the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Council (A&S Council)

(3 members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

- H: Dan Balderston (Hispanic)
- N: Yibiao Pan (Mathematics)
- N: Carol Colby (Neuroscience)
- S: Luca Rigotti (Economics)
- S: Kathleen DeWalt (Anthropology)

Nominees for the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Council (A&S-UC) (3 members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H:	Hannah Johnson	(English)
----	----------------	-----------

- H: Gonzalo Lamana (Hispanic)
- N: Rosemary Capo (Geology and Planetary Science)N: Tessa Warren (Psychology)
- S: Harry Sanabria (Anthropology)
- S: Jude Hays (Political Science)

Nominees for the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Graduate Council (A&S-GC) (3 members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

- H: John Lyne (Communications)
- H: Edouard Machery (History & Philosophy of Science)
- N: Lillian Chong (Chemistry) N: Jon Johnson (Neuroscience)
- S: Margaret Judd (Anthropology)
- S: Mohammed Bamyeh (Sociology)

Nominees for the College of General Studies Council (CGSC) (1 member to be elected from the Humanities division for a 2-year term):

- H: Curtis Breight (English)
- H: Kathleen George (Theatre Arts)

Nominees for the University Council on Graduate Study (1 member to be elected from the Humanities division for a 2-year term):

- H: Michael Thompson (Philosophy)
- H: Steve A. Edwards (Religious Studies)

<u>Nominees for the Honors College Advisory Board</u> (3 members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

- H: Tom Ricketts (Philosophy)
- H: Clark Muenzer (German)
- N: Christopher Lennard (Mathematics)
- N: Adam Leibovich (Physics and Astronomy)
- S: Kristin Kanthak (Political Science)
- S: Richard Scaglion (Anthropology)

Nominees for the Academic Integrity Review Board (2 members and two alternates to be elected (non-division specific) for 2-year terms):

- H: Anne Weis (History of Art & Architecture)
- H: Nick Jones (Classics)
- H: Elizabeth Monasterios (Hispanic)
- N: Shigeru Amemiya (Chemistry)
- N: Jeffrey Cohn (Psychology)
- N: Arthur Kosowsky (Physics and Astronomy)
- S: Akiko Hashimoto (Sociology)
- S: Christel Temple (Africana Studies)
- S: Daniele Coen-Pirani (Economics)

Nominees for the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences <u>Planning & Budgeting Committee * (A&S-PBC)</u> (1 member to be elected in the Natural Sciences division for a 3-year term): Elected faculty members of the A&S-PBC may be asked to serve as the elected Dietrich School faculty representatives on the Provost's Area Planning and Budgeting Committee:

NS: Nat Rosi (Chemistry) NS: Shi-Huo Chang (Computer Science)

*directly elected faculty only—Dietrich School Council also elects three faculty members