UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

rts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 40, NO. 5 FEBRUARY 5, 2009

School of Arts and Sciences Spring Full Faculty Meeting

Wednesday, February 18, 2009 1–2:30 p.m.

Martin Colloquium Room 4th Floor Sennott Square

Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Election of Arts and Sciences Committee Members
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean Juan Manfredi)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Nicole Constable)
- 5. Report on Budget (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 6. Report on Assessment (Associate Dean Juan Manfredi)
- 7. Other Business

Nominations

The Nominating Committee, which was elected by electronic ballot of Arts and Sciences voting members on November 14, 2008, has submitted the following slate of candidates for election by the voting members of the School to membership on the various Arts and Sciences councils and boards.

Names may be added to this list by written petition of at least 20 Arts and Sciences faculty members, provided the petition is in the hands of the Dean, 917 Cathedral of Learning, not later than **February 11, 2009**. After that date an electronic ballot for election to the councils and boards will be available to the Arts and Sciences voting membership.

Divisions:

H = Humanities N = Natural Sciences S = Social Sciences

Nominees for the ARTS AND SCIENCES COUNCIL (A&S COUNCIL)

(three members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a threeyear term):

- H: Jerome Branche (Hispanic Languages and Literatures)
- H: Lester Olson (Communication)
- N: Sharon Nelson-LeGall (Psychology)
- N: Paul Shepard (Physics and Astronomy)
- S: Olivier de Montmollin (Anthropology)
- S: Randall Walsh (Economics)

Nominees for the ARTS AND SCIENCES UNDERGRADUATE COUNCIL (A&S-UC)

(three members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a threeyear term):

- H: Kirsten Fudeman (French and Italian Languages and Literatures)
- H: Clark Muenzer (Germanic Languages and Literatures)
- N: Paula Grabowski (Biological Sciences)
- N: Richard Moreland (Psychology)
- S: G. Reid Andrews (History)
- S: Suzanne Staggenborg (Sociology)

Nominees for the ARTS AND SCIENCES GRADUATE COUNCIL (A&S-GC)

(three members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a twoyear term):

- H: Joshua Ellenbogen (History of Art and Architecture)
- H: Joshua Lund (Hispanic Languages and Literatures)
- N: William Layton (Mathematics)
- N: Adrian Michael (Chemistry)
- S: Seymour Drescher (History)
- S: Aníbal Pérez-Liñán (Political Science)

Nominees for the COLLEGE OF GENERAL STUDIES COUNCIL (CGSC)

(two members to be elected, one each in the Natural Sciences and Social Sciences divisions for a two-year term):

- N: Jana Iverson (Psychology)
- N: Vittorio Paolone (Physics and Astronomy)
- S: David Barker (Political Science)
- S: Pinar Emiralioglu (History)

Nominees for the UNIVERSITY COUNCIL ON GRADUATE STUDY

(two members to be elected, one each in the Natural Sciences and Social Sciences divisions for a two-year term):

- N: Kay Brummond (Chemistry)
- N: Panos Chrysanthis (Computer Science)
- S: Jean-François Richard (Economics)
- S: Richard Smethurst (History)

Nominees for the HONORS COLLEGE ADVISORY BOARD

(three members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a twoyear term):

- H: Adam Lowenstein (English)
- H: Michael Morrill (Studio Arts)
- N: Rebecca Hwa (Computer Science)
- N: Anna Vainchtein (Mathematics)
- S: Steven Husted (Economics)
- S: Rebecca Shumway (History)

Nominees for the

ACADEMIC INTEGRITY REVIEW BOARD

(two members and two alternates to be elected—*non-division specific*—for two-year terms):

- H: Edwin Floyd (Classics)
- H: Ann Harris (History of Art and Architecture)
- H: James Lennox (History and Philosophy of Science)
- N: Walter Carson (Biological Sciences)
- N: Thomas Kamarck (Psychology)
- N: Arthur Kosowsky (Physics and Astronomy)
- S: Christopher Bonneau (Political Science)
- S: Maurine Greenwald (History)
- S: James Kenkel (Economics)

Nominees for the ARTS AND SCIENCES PLANNING AND BUDGETING COMMITTEE (A&S-PBC)*

(one member to be elected in the Natural Sciences division for a three-year term): Elected faculty members of the A&S-PBC may be asked to serve as the elected Arts and Sciences faculty representatives on the Provost's Area Planning and Budgeting Committee.

- N: William Saunders (Biological Sciences)
- N: Stephen Weber (Chemistry)

* directly elected faculty only—A&S Council also elects three faculty members

The University of Pittsburgh is an affirmative action, equal opportunity institution.