UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 45, NO. 7 FEBRUARY 5, 2014

KENNETH P. DIETRICH SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

SPRING FULL FACULTY
MEETING
February 25, 2014
1 – 3 p.m.

University Club Ballroom B

Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Election of AY2015 Dietrich School Governance Committee Members
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 5. Proposal to create two working titles for Lecturers—Lecturer I and Lecturer II—with the latter replacing Lecturer/Master Teacher (Senior Associate Dean James Knapp)
- 6. Other Business

NOMINATIONS

The Nominating Committee, which was elected by ballot of Dietrich School voting members on December 4, 2013, has submitted the following slate of candidates for election by the voting members of the School to membership on the various Dietrich School councils and boards. Names may be added to this list by written petition of at least twenty Dietrich School faculty members, provided the petition is in the hands of the Dietrich School Dean, 917 Cathedral of Learning, not later than February 28, 2014. After that date a ballot for election to the councils and boards will be distributed to the Dietrich School voting membership.

(H=Humanities; N=Natural Sciences; S = Social Sciences)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Council**

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski (French & Italian)

H: Clark Muenzer (German)

N: Jeffrey Newman (Physics & Astronomy)

N: Catalin Trenchea (Mathematics)

S: Bill Chase (History)

S: Michael Goodhart (Political Science)

(3 NTS members to be elected: one from Social Sciences for a 3-year term, one from Natural Sciences for a 2-year term, and one from Humanities for a 1-year term.)

S: Frayda Cohen (Women's Studies)

S: Katherine Wolfe (Economics)

N: Angela Athanas (Mathematics)

N: Barbara Kucinski (Psychology)

H: Gretchen Bender (History of Art & Architecture)

H: Geeta Kothari (English)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Undergraduate Council**

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Gonzalo Lamana (Hispanic)

H: Brent Malin (Communication)

N: Seth Horne (Chemistry)

N: Bita Moghaddam (Neuroscience)

S: Larry Glasco (History)

S: Werner Troesken (Economics)

(3 NTS members to be elected: one from Social Sciences for a 3-year term, one from Natural Sciences for a 2-year term, and one from Humanities for a 1-year term.)

S: Andrew Lotz (Political Science)

S: Dan Romesberg (Sociology)

N: Valerie Oke (Biological Sciences)

N: John Ramirez (Computer Science)

H: John Gareis (Communication)

H: Brett Wells (French & Italian)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Graduate Council**

(3 graduate faculty members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

H: Troy Boone (English)

H: Ron Zboray (Communication)

N: Kirill Kiselyov (Biological Sciences)

N: Susan Sesack (Neuroscience)

S: Jackie Smith (Sociology)

S: Randy Walsh (Economics)

Nominees for the College of General Studies Council

(1 T/TS or NTS member to be elected, one from the Humanities division):

H: Nicholas Coles (English)

H: Kenneth Batista (Studio Arts)

Nominees for the University Council on Graduate Study

(1 graduate faculty member to be elected, one from the Humanities division):

H: Lucy Fischer (English)

H: Kirk Savage (History of Art & Architecture)

Nominees for the Honors College Advisory Board

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term;):

H: Paolo Palmieri (History & Philosophy of Science)

H: William Scott, Jr. (English)

N: Panos Chrysanthis (Computer Science)

N: Natasha Tokowicz (Psychology)

S: Anibal Perez-Linan (Political Science)

S: Jeff Schwartz (Anthropology)

Nominees for the Academic Integrity Review Board

(2 T/TS or NTS members and 2 T/TS or NTS alternates to be elected, non-division specific, for 2-year terms):

H: Alan Juffs (Linguistics)

H: Rachel Kranson (Religious Studies)

H: Mark Kemp (English)

N: Jeffrey Cohn (Psychology)

N: Nancy Pfenning (Statistics)

N: Eugene Wagner (Chemistry)

S: Irina Livezeanu (History)

S: Rod Nelson (Sociology)

S: Jane Wallace (Economics)

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Planning & Budgeting**Committee *

(1 T/TS member to be elected in the Humanities division for a 3-year term): Elected faculty members of the Dietrich School PBC may be asked to serve as the elected Dietrich School faculty representatives on the Provost's Area Planning and Budgeting Committee:

H: Mathew Rosenblum (Music)

H: Anne Weis (History of Art & Architecture)

(3 NTS members to be elected: one from Social Sciences for a 3-year term, one from Natural Sciences for a 2-year term, and one from Humanities for a 1-year term.)

S: Mike Epitropoulos (Sociology)

S: Svitlana Maksymenko (Economics)

N: Tony Bledsoe (Biological Sciences)

N: Charles Jones (Geology & Planetary Science)

H: Jeffrey Oaks (English)

H: Barbara Weissberger (Studio Arts)

*directly elected faculty only—Dietrich School Council also elects three T/TS faculty members