The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 47, NO. 6 FEBRUARY 12, 2016

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Planning and Budgeting Committee Minutes from the January 19, 2016 Meeting

In Attendance: Dean N. John Cooper (Chair), Senior Associate Dean James Knapp, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies John Twyning, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies Kathleen Blee, Associate Dean for College of General Studies Cristina Ruggiero, Executive Director for Financial and Physical Resources Patrick Cunningham, Executive Director for Staff Personnel and Senior Assistant Dean Michele Colvard, Assistant Dean for Business Barbara Vattimo, Director of Communications Carol Mullen, Senior Administrative Officer Jessica Hatherill, Professors Carol Colby, Adriana Helbig, Scott Morgenstern, and Luca Rigotti, Lecturers Gretchen Bender and Svitlana Maksymenko, Staff Representatives Alana Dunn, Linda Howard, and Mat Romick, and Graduate Student Representatives Allison Cullen Doyle, Lindsay Taraban, and Melissa Yang

Not in Attendance: Professors Nathaniel Rosi and Anne Weis, and Lecturer Anthony Bledsoe

Dean Cooper introduced Patrick Cunningham, the new Executive Director of Financial and Planning Resources. The Dean also asked PBC members to introduce themselves.

Minutes of the meeting held on November 16, 2015

The minutes of the meeting held on November 16, 2015 were distributed and approved electronically.

2. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)

The Dean reported that Distinguished Professor Anthony Grace (Neuroscience) received the Gold Medal Award from the Society of Biological Psychiatry. Distinguished Professor Anthony Grace was also named the 2016 SIRS Outstanding Basic Science Award winner from the Schizophrenia International Research Society (SIRS). Professor and Chair Jerome Taylor (Africana Studies) received the Alan Lesgold Award for Excellence in Urban

Education from the Center for Urban Education. Senior Lecturer Claude Mauk (Linguistics) is the winner of the 2016 Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising. Professor and Chair Sandra Mitchell (History and Philosophy of Science) was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences (AAAS). Professor Janyce Wiebe (Computer Science) was named a 2015 Fellow of the Association for Computational Linguistics. Distinguished University Professor Nicholas Rescher (Philosophy) was awarded the Helmoltz Medal from the German Academy of Sciences. Distinguished Professor and Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research Kathleen Blee is the winner of the2016 John D. McCarthy Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Scholarship of Social Movements and Collective Behavior from the Center for the Study of Social Movements at the University of Notre Dame.

3. Report on the Budget (Dean N. John Cooper) Dean Cooper reported that the University is still without an appropriation from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and that the Commonwealth is still without a budget. There is no expectation that we will not get an appropriation, but it is unknown how and when it will occur. The University Trustees adopted a budget Dec 18, 2015, which allowed for modest compensation increases, including salary increments for faculty and staff, as well as graduate student compensation.

4. Dietrich School Mission Statement (Dean N. John Cooper)

A first task of the Planning and Budgeting Committee is to examine the Dietrich School Mission Statement within the context of the language being used in the Plan for Pitt to ensure that both are aligned. The DS Mission Statement should be a statement of what the DS does rather than a statement of strategic goals, and it should be descriptive, concise and written for all audiences. Suggestions for edits to the Mission Statement included changing the language from an "us against them" voice to one that emphasizes the dialogue that exists; aligning the Mission Statement with the Plan for Pitt Strategic Priorities; adding a statement that highlights the Dietrich School's commitment to diversity and inclusion; remove the word "science" since science faculty are not the only ones who create or work with technologies; and include language the denotes the support that undergraduate students receive alongside education and mentoring.

5. Aligning our Strategic Initiatives with the Plan for Pitt (Dean N. John Cooper)

This year, the Chancellor worked with the Provost, Trustees, and upper Administration on an overall strategic plan, creating the Plan for Pitt. We have been asked to go through our strategic planning within the context of the Plan. The Deans think that we should show clearly how it fits within the Plan by using those headlines and deliberately fitting them under each goal.

Dean Cooper suggested taking each Goal from the Plan for Pitt and work on it one by one at each subsequent PBC meeting. The preliminary work will be done by the Deans; the committee will provide feedback, and a coherent document will be established by the end.

6. Other Business

With no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:59 a.m.

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Planning and Budgeting Committee Minutes from the January 27, 2016 Meeting

In Attendance: Dean N. John Cooper (Chair), Senior Associate Dean James Knapp, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies John Twyning, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies Kathleen Blee, Associate Dean for College of General Studies Cristina Ruggiero, Executive Director for Financial and Physical Resources Patrick Cunningham, Executive Director for Staff Personnel and Senior Assistant Dean Michele Colvard, Director of Communications Carol Mullen, Senior Administrative Officer Jessica Hatherill, Professors Carol Colby, Scott Morgenstern, Nathaniel Rosi, and Anne Weis, Lecturers Gretchen Bender, Anthony Bledsoe, and Svitlana Maksymenko, and Staff Representatives Alana Dunn and Mat Romick

Not in Attendance: Assistant Dean for Business Barbara Vattimo, Professors Adriana Helbig and Luca Rigotti, Staff Representative Linda Howard, and Graduate Student Representatives Allison Cullen Doyle, Lindsay Taraban, and Melissa Yang

1. Minutes of the meeting held on January 19, 2016 The minutes of the meeting held on January 19, 2016 were distributed and approved electronically. The minutes were moved and accepted as written.

2. Dietrich School Mission Statement (Dean N. John Cooper)

A first revision of the Mission Statement was provided, as drafted by the Deans in response to comments from the Committee in the January 19, 2016 meeting, along with a copy of the original for comparison. After some discussion and one additional minor edit, the revised Mission Statement was moved and accepted.

3. Goal 1: Advance Educational Excellence (Senior Associate Dean Knapp and Senior Assistant Dean Michele Colvard)

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies John Twyning provided the initial draft for the Goal 1, and asked the Committee for suggestions on how to measure advising and mentoring. Senior Assistant Dean Michele Colvard will provide a copy of the University senior survey to the Committee at the next meeting. Dean Cooper will speak with Vice Provost Juan Manfredi regarding the questions in the SERU survey, as well as with Vice Provost David DeJong regarding sets of data that we should include in the measurable outcomes.

4. PAPBC Representative Selection (Dean N. John Cooper)

Representatives from the Natural and Social Sciences of the Dietrich School PBC were elected to serve in the Provost's Area Planning and Budget Committee. Professor Carol Colby (Natural Sciences) will serve a two year term and Lecturer Svitlana Maksymenko (Social Sciences) will serve a three-year term. Professor Anne Weis and Lecturer Gretchen Bender will speak with Professor Adriana Helbig to determine who will serve to represent the Humanities.

5. Other Business

With no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:45 p.m.