UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

# The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

## KENNETH P. DIETRICH SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

### FALL FULL FACULTY MEETING November 6, 2013 1 – 3 p.m.

O'Hara Student Center Ballroom

### Agenda

- 1. Report on the mail ballot regarding the status of non-tenure stream faculty (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 5. Report on the budget, including post-VERP staff changes (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 6. Election of Dietrich School Nominating Committee (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 7. Other Business

### **SLATE OF CANDIDATES FOR**

#### DIETRICH SCHOOL NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The following slate of candidates for the 2013-2014 Dietrich School Nominating Committee was prepared by the Dietrich School Council at its October 7, 2013 meeting. The faculty members listed have indicated their willingness to serve on the Nominating Committee for a term of one year if elected. This slate will be presented to the voting faculty for a vote at the November 6, 2013 meeting of the Dietrich School Faculty. Additional candidates, who have indicated their willingness to serve either by statement at the meeting or by prior consent in writing, may be nominated from the floor at the faculty meeting. In the absence of a quorum, the slate will be sent to the faculty by electronic ballot.

Faculty elected to the Nominating Committee typically meet with Dean N. John Cooper and then by themselves to select Dietrich School faculty nominees whose names will be placed on the spring ballot for members of the various councils and committees whose terms begin with academic year 2014-2015. The faculty member with the most votes from each Division also serves as a Dietrich School representative on the Senate Committee for Elections for a two-year term.

<u>Humanities</u>	Natural Sciences	Social Sciences
Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members	Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members	Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members
Marah Gubar (English)	Diane Litman (Computer Science)	Michael Goodhart (Political Science)
Todd Reeser (French & Italian)	Susan Sesack (Neuroscience)	Gabriella Lukacs (Anthropology)
Deane Root (Music)	Natasha Tokowicz (Psychology)	John Markoff (Sociology)
Select 1 NTS Faculty Member	Select 1 NTS Faculty Member	Select 1 NTS Faculty Member
Ana Carvalho (Hispanic)	Charles Jones (GPS)	Shirley Cassing (Economics)
Jennifer Lee (English)	Valerie Oke (Biological Sciences)	Dan Romesberg (Sociology)

#### FACULTY WILL VOTE FOR CANDIDATES IN THEIR DIVISION ONLY