## UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

# Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 39, NO. 5 FEBRUARY 5, 2008

School of Arts and Sciences Spring Full Faculty Meeting

**Tuesday, February 19, 2008** 1–2:30 p.m.

Martin Colloquium Room 4th Floor Sennott Square

## Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Election of Arts and Sciences Committee Members
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean Juan Manfredi)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Nicole Constable)
- 5. Update on Assessment of General Education Courses (Associate Dean Juan Manfredi)
- 6. Other Business

### Nominations

The Nominating Committee, which was elected by mail ballot of Arts and Sciences voting members on November 9, 2007, has submitted the following slate of candidates for election by the voting members of the School to membership on the various Arts and Sciences councils and boards.

Names may be added to this list by written petition of at least 20 Arts and Sciences faculty members, provided the petition is in the hands of the Dean, 917 Cathedral of Learning, not later than **February 15, 2008**. After that date an electronic ballot for election to the councils and boards will be available to the Arts and Sciences voting membership.

## Divisions:

- H = Humanities
- N = Natural Sciences
- S = Social Sciences

#### Nominees for the ARTS AND SCIENCES COUNCIL (A&S COUNCIL)

(three members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a threeyear term):

- H: Jonathan Arac (English)
- H: Cecile Sun (East Asian Languages and Literatures)
- N: Diane Litman (Computer Science)
- N: Vladimir Savinov (Physics and Astronomy)
- S: Peter Karsten (History)
- S: Jean-François Richard (Economics)

#### Nominees for the ARTS AND SCIENCES UNDERGRADUATE COUNCIL (A&S-UC)

(three members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a threeyear term):

- H: Lynne Conner (Theatre Arts)
- H: Neepa Majumdar (English)
- N: Stuart Hastings (Mathematics)
- N: Susan Sesack (Neuroscience)
- S: Sourav Bhattacharya (Economics)
- S: Bryan Hanks (Anthropology)

#### Nominees for the ARTS AND SCIENCES GRADUATE COUNCIL (A&S-GC)

(three members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a twoyear term):

- H: Lucy Fischer (English)
- H: Kirsten Fudeman (French and Italian Languages and Literatures)
- N: Susan Kalisz (Biological Sciences)
- N: Daniel Mossé (Computer Science)
- S: Andreas Blume (Economics)
- S: John Markoff (Sociology)

#### Nominees for the COLLEGE OF GENERAL STUDIES COUNCIL (CGSC)

(one member to be elected, from the Humanities division for a two-year term):

- H: Alexander Orbach (Religious Studies)
- H: Deane Root (Music)

#### Nominees for the UNIVERSITY COUNCIL ON GRADUATE STUDY

(one member to be elected, from the Humanities division for a two-year term):

- H: Troy Boone (English)
- H: Jerome Branche (Hispanic Languages and Literatures)

#### Nominees for the HONORS COLLEGE ADVISORY BOARD

(three members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a twoyear term):

- H: S. Anthony Edwards (Religious Studies)
- H: Andrew Miller (Classics)
- N: J. Patrick Card (Neuroscience)
- N: Anna Vainchtein (Mathematics)
- S: Oliver Board (Economics)
- S: Deborah Gould (Sociology)

#### Nominees for the ACADEMIC INTEGRITY REVIEW BOARD

(two members and two alternates to be elected—*non-division specific*—for two-year terms):

- H: Roberta Hatcher (French and Italian Languages and Literatures)
- H: Hannah Johnson (English)
- H: Adam Shear (Religious Studies)
- N: Frank Beatrous (Mathematics)
- N: Donald Chiarulli (Computer Science)
- N: Jeffrey Cohn (Psychology)
- S: Lisa Brush (Sociology)
- S: Bin Chen (Economics)
- S: Kristin Kanthak (Political Science)

#### Nominees for the ARTS AND SCIENCES PLANNING AND BUDGETING COMMITTEE (A&S-PBC)\*

(one member to be elected in the Humanities division for a three-year term): Elected faculty members of the A&S-PBC may be asked to serve as the elected Arts and Sciences faculty representatives on the Provost's Area Planning and Budgeting Committee.

- H: Susan Harris Smith (English)
- H: Lina Insana (French and Italian Languages and Literatures)

\* directly elected faculty only—A&S Council also elects three faculty members

The University of Pittsburgh is an affirmative action, equal opportunity institution.