Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 42, NO. 5 February 08, 2011

School of Arts and Sciences Spring Full Faculty Meeting

Wednesday, February 23, 2011 3:00-5:00 p.m.

Martin Colloquium Room 4th Floor Sennott Square

Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Election of A&S Committee members
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Nicole Constable)
- 5. Report on Budget (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 6. Postdoctoral Program and Hot Metal Bridge Program (Associate Dean Nicole Constable)
- 7. Report on Accreditation (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 8. Other Business

NOMINATIONS

The Nominating Committee, which was elected by ballot of A&S voting members on November 10, 2010, has submitted the following slate of candidates for election by the voting members of the School to membership on the various A&S councils and boards. Names may be added to this list by written petition of at least twenty A&S faculty members, provided the petition is in the hands of the A&S Dean, 917 Cathedral of Learning, not later than February 7, 2011. After that date a ballot for election to the councils and boards will be distributed to the A&S voting membership.

(H = Humanities; N = Natural Sciences; S = Social Sciences)

Nominees for the **Arts and Sciences Council** (A&S Council) (3 members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Don Bialostosky (English)

H: Oscar Swan (Slavic)

N: Stephen B. Manuck (Psychology)

N: Sunil Saxena (Chemistry)

S: Scott Morgenstern (Political Science)

S: Lise Vesterlund (Economics)

Nominees for the **Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Council** (A&S-UC) (3 members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Michael Morrill (Studio Arts)

H: Cecile Chu-Chin Sun (East Asian Languages & Literatures)

N: Frank Beatrous (Mathematics)

N: Jeffrey Hildebrand (Biological Sciences)

S: Janelle Greenberg (History)

S: Margaret Judd (Anthropology)

Nominees for the **Arts and Sciences Graduate Council** (A&S-GC) (3 members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year

term):

H: Bruce McConachie (Theatre Arts)

H: Adam Shear (Religious Studies)

N: Anna Marsland (Psychology)

N: Susan Kalisz-Tonsor (Biological Sciences)

S: Daniel Berkowitz (Economics)

S: Robert Drennan (Anthropology)

Nominees for the College of General Studies Council (CGSC)

(1 member to be elected from the Natural Sciences and Social Sciences division for a 2-year term):

N: Jana Iverson (Psychology)

N: Gerard Campbell (Biological Sciences)

S: Cecil Blake (Africana Studies)

S: Charles Gochman (Political Science)

Nominees for the University Council on Graduate Study

(1 member to be elected from the Natural Sciences and Social Sciences division for a 2-year term):

N: Chandralekha Singh (Physics & Astronomy)

N: Rami Melham (Computer Science)

S: Jonathan Hurwitz (Political Science)

S: Holger Hoock (History)

Nominees for the **Honors College Advisory Board** (3 members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

H: Michael West (English)

H: Ronald Zboray (Communication)

N: Hrvoje Petek (Physics & Astronomy)

N: Paul Floreancig (Chemistry)

S: Lisa Brush (Sociology)

S: Jeffrey Schwartz (Anthropology)

Nominees for the Academic Integrity Review Board

(2 members and two alternates to be elected (non-division specific) for 2-year terms):

H: Randall Halle (German)

H: Gordon Mitchell (Communication)

H: Anna Nisnevich (Music)

N: Germán Barrionuevo (Neuroscience)

N: Robert Devaty (Physics & Astronomy)

N: Michael Golde (Chemistry)

S: Mark Hoekstra (Economics)

S: Lara Putnam (History)

S: Kristin Kanthak (Political Science)

Nominees for the Arts & Sciences Planning & Budgeting Committee * (A&S-PBC) (1 member to be elected in the Humanities division for a 3-year term): Elected faculty members of the A&S-PBC may be asked to serve as the elected A&S faculty representatives on the Provost's Area

Planning and Budgeting Committee:

H: Andrew Weintraub (Music)

H: Anne Weiss (History of Art & Architecture)

*directly elected faculty only—A&S Council also elects three faculty members