UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

# The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 46, NO. 1 SEPTEMBER 18, 2014

## KENNETH P. DIETRICH SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

FALL FULL FACULTY MEETING
October 6, 2014
2 – 4 p.m.

University Club Ballroom A

### Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Report on the Mail Ballot Regarding Lecturer I and II Working Titles (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 5. Report on Enrollment (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 6. Election of Dietrich School Nominating Committee (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 7. Other Business

#### SLATE OF CANDIDATES FOR

#### DIETRICH SCHOOL NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The following slate of candidates for the 2014-2015 Dietrich School Nominating Committee was prepared by the Dietrich School Council at its September 5, 2014 meeting. The faculty members listed have indicated their willingness to serve on the Nominating Committee for a term of one year if elected. This slate will be presented to the voting faculty for a vote at the October 6, 2014 meeting of the Dietrich School Faculty. Additional candidates, who have indicated their willingness to serve either by statement at the meeting or by prior consent in writing, may be nominated from the floor at the faculty meeting. In the absence of a quorum, the slate will be sent to the faculty by electronic ballot.

Faculty elected to the Nominating Committee typically meet with Dean N. John Cooper and then by themselves to select Dietrich School faculty nominees whose names will be placed on the spring ballot for members of the various councils and committees whose terms begin with academic year 2015-2016. The faculty member with the most votes from each Division also serves as a Dietrich School representative on the Senate Committee for Elections for a two-year term.

#### FACULTY WILL VOTE FOR CANDIDATES IN THEIR DIVISION ONLY

<b>Humanities</b>	<b>Natural Sciences</b>	<b>Social Sciences</b>
Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members	Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members	Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members
John Lyon (German)	Walter Carson (Biological Sciences)	Melanie Hughes (Sociology)
Neepa Majumdar (English)	Eric Donny (Psychology)	Irina Livezeanu (History)
Adam Shear (Jewish Studies)	Janyce Wiebe (Computer Science)	Anibal Perez-Linan (Political Science)
Select 1 NTS Faculty Member	Select 1 NTS Faculty Member	Select 1 NTS Faculty Member
Lorraine Denman (French & Italian)	Cynthia Lausberg (Psychology)	Frayda Cohen (Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies)
Beth Matway (English)	Tony Bledsoe (Biological Sciences)	Andrew Lotz (Political Science)