Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising

The Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences annually recognizes outstanding faculty academic advising of its undergraduate students with the Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising, a one-time $4,000 (taxable) cash award.

Any Dietrich School faculty member with a regular, full-time appointment who has served as a departmental advisor for at least three years on the Oakland campus is eligible. Faculty members who receive a nomination from their department chair and two or more undergraduate students whom they have advised will be considered.

A letter from the chair of the department is required; it should explain the advising model used in the faculty member's department, include a perspective on his or her advising appointment and case load, and describe how the faculty member has demonstrated excellence in academic advising. Letters from at least two current or former undergraduate advisees are also required. These letters should describe when and how the faculty member's advice has impacted the advisee's academic and career goals.

Nomination Information

Nominations are accepted from October 1 through October 31, and should be sent to John Twyning, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, 140 Thackeray Hall.

The prize winner will be selected by the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Council and announced in the spring term. For more information, contact Z Taylor at

Recent Awardees

  • Mark Kemp, English (2017)
  • Claude Mauk, Linguistics (2016)
  • Mark Collins, Geology and Planetary Science (2015)
  • Jane Wallace, Economics (2014)
  • Katherine Wolfe, Economics (2014)
  • Gretchen Bender, History of Art and Architecture (2013)
  • Kathleen Allen, Anthropology (2012)
  • Tony Novosel, History (2011)
  • Barbara Kucinski, Psychology (2010)
  • Fiore Pugliano, English (2009)
  • George Bandik, Chemistry (2008)
  • Daniel Romesberg, Sociology (2007)